RSS

Third Day of Eating Locally = :(

04 Dec

November 16, 2011

I am on day three of eating locally. I am also on the verge of tears. I can’t really tell if I am angry, sad, or just hungry. Let me just say – I DO NOT HAVE TIME FOR THIS! I DO NOT HAVE THE MONEY FOR THIS!

This yogurt was the most disgusting thing that I have ever had in my entire life. EW! Ew. Oh my gosh. EW! It tastes like rotten/spoiled milk. Listen people, imagine you open up a yogurt that you just bought for $5.99 and there is a crust on top. A gross, congealed crust!  I mean, do I mix this stuff up? Do I throw out the crusty dried up yogurt on top? My first reaction was to mix it up. After I put my spoon in that gross hard stuff I got too grossed out and threw it away. Maybe I shouldn’t have because now this yogurt is literally the most disgusting thing that I have ever eaten. Seriously, if I ordered this at a restaurant and it tasted like this I might sue them for trying to kill me. It is SO BAD! I also got some honey for $4.59. Together it was about 12 dollars. Now I am stuck with this horrible yogurt that I am not sure is safe to eat.  I am a college student supplementing my own income by working on top of taking five classes. I cannot eat locally for the whole week if this is what is in store for me.  I plainly can’t afford it.

Maybe I will get vegetables and cook. But, honestly, I do not have TIME! As mentioned, I am a college student. WITH A JOB!

After getting my roommate to try it, I eat about five spoon-fulls. I only ate that much because I am starving. I ran to class this morning and stopped at the café like I always do but then remembered that I can’t eat anything there because I have no idea where it came from or if the ingredients are local or not. I got coffee because I will die without it and went to class hungry. After what felt like a million hours of class I finally made it to city market. I was not prepared for what came next. I walked in and felt like it was my first time in a grocery store. I mean, I shop there sometimes and it definitely was not my first time in there. But, it sure felt like it. This experience was nothing like any of the other times that I am have gone to get food. I usually look at signs and stuff, but this time was different. Usually I look at prices first since I am a broke college student. But, this time I had to look to see where the produce was grown and then how much it costs. I should not have compared the prices to the stuff that is not local. There is such a price difference that I thought about cheating and giving up right there in the store. Then I talked myself down and remembered that I would not have the full experience if I were to cheat like I desperately wanted to. Ugh. This is not good. I settled on that disgusting yogurt, the honey, some eggs, and a sweet potato.

When I saw the sweet potato my spirits soared. Besides being uglier than the non-local variety they looked pretty good. Usually I would have never bought it because of how weird it looked. Then, just as I picked one up, I found a beautiful black spider running up the side of another sweet potato. Ew. I saw a spider in city market. Ugh. Gross.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 4, 2011 in Emily Smith

 

Leave a Reply

 
