RSS

Kyle – Day 6

04 Dec

Day 6, Saturday November 25, 2011 11:34pm

Today I decided that this weeklong project is being done in a work week. I just can’t do it anymore. I have had enough of apple sauce, mealy apples, and dried out shepherd’s pie.

Overall though, I feel like the project has been a success, I accomplished what I set out to do. The goal was to only eat local ingredients for the entire week, which I did, excluding the Thanksgiving meals that my family and friends made.

The conclusions that I have drawn are, firstly, that only eating local is just highly impractical, at least if you are trying to start this time of year. If I was making the choice to only eat local for the rest of my life, I would start in late spring or early summer. This would give me access to a lot of fresh produce and fruits. I would make jams and jellies that I could eat later in the year. I would make as much bread as possible early on and freeze it. I would do everything that I could to learn about preservation through canning, pickling, freezing and dehydrating. All of those techniques and the foods produced by them would definitely make eating local during this time of year easier.

The second conclusion that I have drawn is that eating local is just too expensive if you are not subsidizing your food in some way. If you have a CSA or a small garden of some sort, it becomes increasingly easier to eat local. If you know how to cook or have the space and time to do so, eating local becomes far easier. If you have transportation to farmers markets and the local farm stands like the Mazza stores inColchester, eating local becomes less of a hassle. However, if you miss the farmers markets, lack transportation, do not have a CSA, then City Market or Healthy Living are your only options and there prices are entirely too high. Feeding myself was expensive, if I had to feed an entire family, I have no idea how I would afford it.

However, the outlook isn’t entirely bleak. I will definitely be buying more of my staples local, like bread, milk, eggs, potatoes, onions, and garlic. Those products are not much more expensive when bought local and are plentiful. I am also going to increase my organic consumption as well. Just because something is not local does not mean it can not be sustainable or healthy. I think that organic is a perfect substitute for unavailable local foods.

Although this project has been long, frustrating, and expensive, it has also been an amazing learning experience and I can not wait to compare my results with my group-mates.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 4, 2011 in Kyle Bessette

 

Leave a Reply

 
