RSS

Kyle – Day 3

04 Dec

Day 3, Tuesday November 21, 2011 9:48pm

Work was a lot easier today when it came to the hunger.  I brought an apple and apple sauce for my pre-break snacking. I ate my pie again for lunch and found my local-depression slipping away, at least for a little while. This is definitely getting easier, although I think I am going to get sick of eating the same thing over and over.  I am going to try to make a chili after writing this post, if I can find the time and a good recipe that doesn’t require many ingredients that I don’t have/aren’t local.

I don’t really have a lot to say in this entry, today was pretty boring, so I will take this time to look over my expenses. At Healthy Living I spent fifty dollars, with the most expensive item being ground beef at $7.99/#. I didn’t really buy that diverse of a selection there, mostly just the staples, milk, butter, potatoes, garlic, etc. Looking at what I bought, there is very little that I could have done with it, maybe made some biscuits or bread, roasted potatoes, maybe made a soup if I was being adventurous.

At City Market I have spent nearly sixty dollars so far. I bought a gallon of cider so I had something to drink other than water and milk. I bought some chicken breast as well, which totaled twelve dollars for two breasts. Chicken normally costs no more than a dollar or so per pound at the supermarket. I am still floored that I spent that much on chicken; if I was feeding more than just myself I don’t know how I would afford meat. I also found that the ground beef at City Market is more expensive than that at Healthy Living, which I find surprising.

Overall, this is costing me quite a lot. I knew that it was going to be more expensive to eat local, just not this much more expensive. Thinking about this is making me sick to my stomach, so I am going to end this post and try to get my mind off of all the money I have spent.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 4, 2011 in Kyle Bessette

 

Leave a Reply

 
