RSS

Kyle – Day 1

04 Dec

Day 1, Sunday November 20, 2011 7:07 pm

I woke up this morning with high hopes for the Eat Local Project. The idea is to only eat foods that are made with local ingredients, not just locally made products. We are allowed two exceptions to this rule. My group-mates and I decided to up the ante a little more by having at least one of us (myself) do the project later in the semester, just to see how much more difficult and expensive it would be. Living inVermontand having a background in cooking, I was thinking this project would be a breeze. I was still thinking this up until about 20 minutes into my shopping trip at Healthy Living.

First of all, that store is a maze. The first grocery stores created were designed in a way that guided customers down every aisle so they could see every product available. I guess Healthy Living thought that the traditional layout was some kind of capitalist marketing scheme that they didn’t want to be a part of and decided to layout their store in a completely non-practical manner. There are aisles that are perpendicular to each other, some are rounded, and if you get distracted for half a second you find yourself standing in the middle of a cafeteria interrupting peoples lunch. I was finding local food difficult enough and the stores layout just made it worse.

But, I digress. I had originally planned to visit the farmer’s market yesterday morning, but it was the only time I had to catch up on sleep after having a terrible stomach virus Thursday night. I honestly thought that Healthy Living would have everything that I needed to survive the week with no trouble at all. I was pretty wrong. I hadn’t intended on buying meat because of how expensive it was going to be, but I realized that I could not think of anything to cook without meat as a base. I don’t cook a lot of root veggies, not because I don’t like them, just because roasting, braising, and stewing take forever. I ended up with mostly potatoes, onions, garlic, flour, eggs, yogurt, applesauce, and cheese. I was so depressed and disheartened that I wanted to just email professor Mares and give up.

I then decided to go to City Market in hopes that they might have something else. I was wrong, they had a smaller selection and I ended buying a can of corn to make a shepherd’s pie just to have lunch for the week at work. I broke down and bought a loaf of locally made, organic bread because the thought of going back to my apartment and spending hours in the kitchen was killing me.

When I finally got back to my apartment, I was starving, but had nothing to readily eat besides the bread, cheese, yogurt, and applesauce. I ate a bowl of yogurt (which was disgusting) and set to work cooking. I made the shepherd’s pie (choosing seasonings as my first exception), but did not eat any for dinner because I needed meals during my 40 hour work week at the shoe store. I ate some of the cheese and bread for dinner and was going to continue to cook, but my roommates needed to eat as well and wanted to use the kitchen.

I am in higher spirits now that I actually have something to eat this week and I will probably have a bowl of applesauce for a before bed snack/meal, but if day 1 is an accurate representation of the rest of the week, I might not make it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 4, 2011 in Kyle Bessette

 

Leave a Reply

 
